Hourglass

Cormac Russell

The singer signaled for the choir to release the songs he wrote
While burying the parchment in the pocket of his coat
But the choir wouldn’t sing it, so he stormed out of the church
Saying “I was wrong. I won’t be here for long.”

Then the street fell asleep and he blew the mist
Into the palm of her hand, spinning stones across the sand
The boats were trawling up the coastline while she poured her thoughts in him
Like an hourglass, saying “Time will pass.”

The comets leapt like angels burning bright across the night
When I heard ghost of Gabriel strumming chords composed of light
The music fastened with the fingers of a player dressed in white
Saying, “Time is done. You won’t be here for long.”

So I kissed her on the bridge and woke up on a ledge
I fell into the sky praying, “Please don’t let me die”
Then they pulled me from the edge
A herd of tigers guided me into the crimson black sky

Mermaids were swimming in the ocean – from my window I could see
A blue eyed girl with pale white hair glancing up at me
I paused a moment thinking that her gaze would suck me in
Then I saw the stars reflecting light from Mars

I imagined that my bedroom would teleport through time
When I could wear my hair long and sing sentences in rhyme
When the saints would whisper through the paint and tell me everything
That I need to know – how to make Time flow

So I kissed her on the bridge and woke up on a ledge
I fell into the sky praying, “Please don’t let me die.”
Then they pulled me from the edge
A herd of tigers guided me into the crimson black sky

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Share your thoughts...

